Margaret Atwood - Author

Margaret Atwood


Author of more than fifty books of fiction, poetry, critical essays, and graphic novels

Join Margaret Atwood on the following trips:

Margaret Atwood, whose work has been published in more than forty-five countries, is the author of more than fifty books of fiction, poetry, critical essays, and graphic novels.

Her 1985 classic, The Handmaid’s Tale, now an award-winning TV series, was followed in 2019 by a sequel, The Testaments, which was a global number one bestseller and won the Booker Prize. In 2020 she published Dearly, her first collection of poetry in a decade, followed in 2022 with Burning Questions, a selection of essays from 2004 to 2021.

Her latest collection of short stories, Old Babes in the Wood, was published in March 2023.

Odl babes in the wood book cover

Her other works of fiction include Cat’s Eye, finalist for the 1989 Booker Prize; Alias Grace, which won the Giller Prize in Canada and the Premio Mondello in Italy; The Blind Assassin, winner of the 2000 Booker Prize; The MaddAddam Trilogy; and Hag-Seed. Margaret even penned a short story, The Stone Mattress, aboard an Adventure Canada expedition.

Margaret Atwood And Her Husbent Iceland

© Michelle Valberg

The late Graeme Gibson, storyteller and poet Svanur Thorkelsson, and author Margaret Atwood, all Adventure Canada staff experts on our Iceland Circumnavigation, 2018

She is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade, the Franz Kafka International Literary Prize, the PEN Center USA Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Los Angeles Times Innovator’s Award. She lives in Toronto.

As a special guest, Margaret Atwood delivers onboard presentations while enjoying the wonders of expedition travel with Adventure Canada.